Unfortunately many of the photographs we took of St. Mary's in Wilton - especially the memorials inside - were either blurred or corrupted. We will endevour to return and take some better photographs; we have still used some of the photographs if the inscriptions can be read.
The old parish church of St. Mary stands in the centre of the village at the old market place. In 1845* the new parish church was completed and much of St. Mary's was demolished. It is now maintained by the Churches Conservation Trust and is termed as 'redundant'. When we re-visted in 2012 we discovered a new automatic lock had been installed which means visitors can gain entry during the day times - unfortunately is was not working the day we visited so could not go inside to re-take some photographs. Hopefully it will have all been sorted by our next visit.
Some of the photographs are of objects which would have been inside the church are now outside due to partial demolition of the building. Our web pages show the objects where they now stand - ie even if originally positioned inside, if it is outside now, it is shown on the 'Outside' page.
[* Information from Churches Conservation Trust information leaflet.]